I have been mostly bed-stricken today with something I'd rather not talk about. However, I've had about two periods of consciousness, right now being one, in which I've tried to read a bit of “Seeing What’s Next” by Clayton Christensen, Scott Anthony, and Erik Roth.

Reading just now, I looked over at my guitar, which has been sitting idly for many moons, begging for someone to strum it. It made me think, what the hell did I hire that guitar for, anyway.

I didn't so much hire it to look pretty or make an amaingly rich sound. Nor was I really worried about durability at the time of purchase. 

I mostly just wanted a decent quality guitar that I could use for practice. It's quite possible that the millions of idle guitars sitting in people's closets were hired for the same reason. So why do these lower-end guitars still do such a shoddy job of just that?

Seems to me there is a great opportunity for a disruptive innovation here.

Here are some ideas:
  • Guitars with built-in metronomes and/or mp3 players, so you can challenge yourself to play at normal speeds and/or play along to favorite songs
  • LED–lit electronic fretboards that light up in sync with pre-packaged guitar tunes, showing you how to play which chords and when. (This can't be much more complicated than those damn Christmas tree lights that play along to awful sounding carols.)
  • Guitars that can accommodate multiple classes of strings, going from "softer" to "normal" to allow players to work into more advanced songs/chords (e.g., bar chords) while they are still developing their hand muscles and dexterity
Any advances here could then apply to other stringed instruments – violins, violas, cellos, basses, etc.

So, when do we get started?

Posted via email from Human Ventures

