Yesterday I posted my thoughts on a recent article by Nathaniel Whittemore at Change.org.  His article and my reaction spurred some great dialogue, which I thought it worth summarizing here.

Here are the key take-aways, from my standpoint.  There are simply two…

  • We need to continue working toward a fair, net measure of impact – to include social, environmental, and economic impact – so that we can more holistically judge an organization’s success
  • Until we have more holistic measures for impact that are reliable and fair, we need to be very careful about placing social enterprise on a pedestal above traditional business.  We can’t assume that social enterprises are always generating more positive impact simply because they have grand mission statements and self-identify as “social.”  The proof, as they say, is in the pudding, and experience has shown us that even the best of intentions only get you so far.
